NaNoWriMo: Week 2

Week two is here! At the time of writing this, I’m at 23k words, almost halfway to my NaNo goal. Last week I said I was struggling because I keep running out of juice and motivation, and therefore I don’t feel I have what it takes to be a full-time author. And this week, it hasn’t changed.

A new struggle has arisen: I still don’t hear my characters’ voices.

That’s not unusual, which is why my stories do take some time to solidify before I feel confident to post them; that and along with my past history of stalling and going on hiatus during my depression episode two years ago meant I try not to promise regular updates until the book is finished, or at least I am sufficiently far ahead to carry on updating even if writing stops.

NaNo doesn’t allow that. And when Seiren and Madeleine still doesn’t really talk aloud in my head it makes it more difficult to see where they would go. The plot is done. I know where they need to go and what they need to do, but I have yet to elicit any genuine reactions from them. And when I have less regular updates, usually by about 20% of the way into the book I know what they’re like. There’s no hint of that happening any time soon, currently. Sucks to be me.

Leave a Reply

