Ruined Childhood: Winner Interview

childhood-destroyed

The long-awaited interview for the Ruined Childhood contest winner, VictoriaMoschou! Check out her path of destruction in ruining Halloween (“Something Pumpkin This Way Comes“), a fictional character (“Beauty and the Feast“), a toy (“Children should Listen“), and a children’s activity (“The Devil’s Music“).

1) How did you find the contest? How do you feel, as the winner?

I thought the contest was genius, although I wasn’t quite sure if I could be “dark” enough. When I found out I had won I couldn’t believe. Yeah, I know; cliché. But sometimes, you just have to embrace it!

2) Tell me a bit about you.

My name is Victoria Moschou, I’m a 24-year-old economist and I love writing and reading. Cliché no.2, since this is already known. Something that it isn’t known -yet- is that I am working on that collection, “Happily Never After”, to create an anthology of not so happy stories. Besides, not every story has a happy ending.

3) What were your inspirations for the contest entries? What generally inspires you as a writer?

Basically the whole Halloween Mood. Few true stories, my fav fairytale -aka “Beauty and the Beast”-, my fav series, “Charmed”, and the need to write something completely out of the ordinary for me. I’m a romantic, so what generally inspires me is the hope I can see in little children’s eyes, the family bonds, the need to believe in something… Good music, cooking/baking and myths/supernatural stories can also be an inspiration to me.

4) How old were you when you first started writing? How have you developed as a writer since then? Do your family/friends know you write and how do they feel about that?

Oh, that’s an easy one. I started writing at the age of 9. I tried to create a fanfic of Harry Potter; I knew I wanted to write a best-seller! Lol! From that day on, I was writing on and off, but when I turned 15 I realised that it was something I’m passionate about. So, I started working basically on “The Passion Of Hate”, which is also uploaded on Wattpad, and on other short stories. Of course my parents know that I write and they always want to know what’s going to happen next. The toughest reviewer to please though is my boyfriend and that’s why he’s the first to read my rough drafts. Either he’ll love or he’ll hate them.

5) What are your aims as a writer?

I’m not quite sure yet. I do know that I love writing and I write with much more enthusiasm than I did in the past. I guess if something is pure art, I’ll know that it’s the right time for me to try and be published.

6) What kind of genres do you write? And why?

I write mostly fiction and fantasy; probably because that’s what I love reading. And because we already have an everyday routine and a mundane life. So, it’s not necessary to read something like that in a novel. Let’s just chase fairytales!

7) What kind of books are you into as a reader? What is your favourite book (/series) on and off Wattpad?

Like I said before, I love fiction and fantasy novels. My fav books on Wattpad are “All Lips Turn Blue” by Nyhterides, aka C Bottas, and “The Rune Mage” by you! Biased, I know! I also like “A Court For Fairies” by Lynn Santiago, which is going to be published soon! But my all-time-classic fav novel is “Wuthering Heights”.

8) How do you develop a story? What parts do you like/dislike the most and why?

When I was younger, I used to create the characters and the settings first and then I started narrating the story. I found out that this didn’t actually work for me. So, what I do know, is to let my characters do whatever the hell they want. I’m just the narrator. I always love the introductory parts and what really annoys me is when my characters tend to do things that aren’t in their “nature”! So, I have to edit and edit again!

9) What is your favourite film/TV show?

Hmm… I think I’ll always adore “Charmed”, but I also love “Lord of the Rings” and “Harry Potter”, Each and every single book and movie. Told you… Fantasy addict.

10) What do you aspire towards, in life?

Ok, this interview is gonna be full of clichés. I aspire to happy a happy, full life, with people that I love and love me back. I aspire to succeed as an economist and, if possible, as a writer, too.

11) And what are your plans over the holiday period?

I’m gonna charge my batteries and just… sleep till new year’s eve!

Leave a Reply

